Pulmonary Fibrosis and You (File: Pulmonary Fibrosis and You 01 20 07.pdf)
Date Posted:
Stated simply, Pulmonary Fibrosis is a condition where there is scarring of the lungs.

COPD, Emphysema, and You (File: COPD Emphysema and You 2nd Edition 01 20 07 (1).pdf)
Date Posted:
Often, when patients are told that they have Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), they are puzzled that they were not told of this condition in the past.

What is Sarcoidosis? (File: what-is-sarcoidosis1.pdf)
Date Posted:
Sarcoidosis (sar-coy-DOE-sis) is a disease in which inflammation produces tiny lumps of cells in organs throughout the body.

What is Alpha-1 Antitrypsin Deficiency? (File: what-is-alpha-1-antitrypsin-deficiency.pdf)
Date Posted:
Alpha-1 antitrypsin deficiency is an inherited form of emphysema (em-fuh-ZEE-muh).

What is Vocal Cord Dysfunction (VCD)? (File: vcd.pdf)
Date Posted:
Vocal Cord Dysfunction means that your vocal cords do not act normally.

Using a Spacer with Your Inhaler (File: using-spacer-inhaler.pdf)
Date Posted:
A spacer is a hollow tube that attaches to your inhaler. The spacer holds the medicine from your inhaler until you are able to breathe it into your lungs.

Thoracentesis (File: thoracentesis.pdf)
Date Posted:
Thoracentesis (thor-a-sen-tee-sis) is a procedure that is done to remove a sample of fluid from around the lung.

Surgery for Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (File: surgery-for-chronic-obstructive-pulmonary-disease.pdf)
Date Posted:
If you have COPD, you may benefit from lung surgery. Only a small number of people however, have the type of COPD that will benefit from surgery.

Sleep Studies (File: sleep-studies1.pdf)
Date Posted:
It can be normal to have trouble sleeping from time to time, but if you are having trouble sleeping most nights, you may have a sleep problem.

Signs and Symptoms of COPD (File: signs-and-symptoms-of-copd.pdf)
Date Posted:
Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) can cause shortness of breath, tiredness, production of mucus, and cough.

Pulmonary Hypertension (File: pul-hyp.pdf)
Date Posted:
Pulmonary Hypertension is a rare lung disease in which the blood pressure in the main artery (pulmonary artery) to your lungs is very high.

Cough (File: PHSCough.pdf)
Date Posted:
A cough is a reaction or reflex. Coughing helps keep things out of your lungs and clears things that are not suppose to be in your lungs.

Oxygen Therapy (File: oxygen-therapy.pdf)
Date Posted:
Patients with lung disease can have low levels of oxygen in their bodies and some need to use extra (supplemental) oxygen to bring their oxygen levels up to a healthier level.

Obstructive Sleep Apnea and Heart Disease (File: osa.pdf)
Date Posted:
Obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) is a condition in which you stop breathing during sleep because of a narrowed or closed breathing passage (airway).

Oral Appliances for Sleep Apnea (File: Oral_Appliances_for_Sleep_Apnea.pdf)
Date Posted:
Oral appliances are devices that can be used to treat mild or moderate Obstructive Sleep Apnea, as well as snoring.

Occupational Lung Diseases (File: occupational-lung-disease.pdf)
Date Posted:
Occupational lung diseases are caused or made worse by your work environment.

What is Obstructive Sleep Apnea In Adults? (File: obstructive-sleep-apnea.pdf)
Date Posted:
Obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) is a common problem that affects a person’s breathing during sleep.

Nebulizer Treatments (File: nebulizer.pdf)
Date Posted:
You are to receive medicine through a nebulizer treatment. Nebulizer treatments also are called breathing treatments, aerosol treatments or med nebs.

Nasal Rinse (File: nasalrinse.pdf)
Date Posted:
Nasal rinses are used to rinse mucous and irritants from the nasal passages and to add moisture and soothe irritated nasal passages. It can be helpful to people who have lots of mucous from colds, chronic sinus infections or allergies.

Medicines Used to Treat COPD (File: medicines-used-to-treat-copd.pdf)
Date Posted:
The most common medications for treating chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) are bronchodilators and steroids. Both make breathing easier, but do this in different ways.

« Previous 1 2 3 Next »